SFJAZZ – Charles Lloyd New Quartet – Palace of Fine Arts

Charles Lloyd New Quartet 03
Charles Lloyd New Quartet 01

Charles Lloyd – saxophone, flute, piano and percussion
Jason Moran – piano
Reuben Rogers – acoustic bass
Eric Harland – drums

Sunday evening, I went to see the Charles Lloyd New Quartet in concert at the Palace of Fine Arts for the SFJAZZ Spring Season. Most of the music was original compositions from the sax legend, which took us on a journey around the world. I definitely need to listen to more of his music. Their first set was just over an hour and just as you thought they were done, they came back and played for almost another hour. Near the end of the second set, Lloyd joined Moran on piano and performed a spoken word piece on the current state of the world. The quartet closed out their set with riveting versions of “Life Every Voice and Sing” (Moran’s solo was thunderous) and Ellington’s “Come Sunday.”

See more photos here.

Leave a Reply